God's words

  • 1Chr. 16:31
    Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad; let them say among the nations, “The LORD reigns!”

CITY CHURCH CARDIFF, ELIM PENTECOSTAL CHURCH>

  • CITY TEMPLE CHURCH CARDIFF
    I'm on the pastoral team of this thriving multi-cultural Elim Pentecostal Church in the heart of Cardiff- the capital city of Wales.

THIRD DAY

WALESWIDE

  • WALESWIDE
    I am part of the church planting and strengthening ministry Waleswide, alongside leaders from across the evangelical spectrum and geographical spread of the nation.

ELIM WALES

  • ELIM INTERNATIONAL MISSIONS
    Both personally and in my local church role I am pleased to stand with our Elim Missions Dept.
  • ELIM WALES
    I spend part of my time as the regional co-ordinator for Elim in Wales-working with churches and leaders.

GATEWAY MINISTRIES/IGNITE INDIA

« NEW IGNITE INDIA CHURCHES. | Main | HOPE FOR HAITI-HOPE FOR GUERBY. »

01/13/2010

Comments

Keith Jennings

NIgel,

I sincerely appreciate you taking time to articulate your perspective. It's funny, as a marketing professional and mentor, I'm seeing "virtual intimacy" perceived in customer relationships as well. In other words, young marketers think they've engaged customers in authentic, meaningful ways. And they haven't.

As a Christian writer and Sunday School teacher, your points about Biblical literacy and cultural connectivity connect with my experiences. I'm searching for ways to help emerging leaders not split their personalities - where there's the business persona, the family persona, the Christian persona, etc. And instead, practice the presence of God in everything they do.

Look forward to your future insights!

Marcaus

This is such a real issue. The need for genuine leaders with depth of character, knowledge and conviction is immense.

Compromise is so easily arrived at, but often so hard to realise.

Keith - split personalities are something that I have often grappled with. In a position of military leadership there is my game face (not compromising on faith - but distinct from my core person), then at home and church there is my 'real' face - which allows me to be me. Does this mean I am not true to myself in my vocation? Probably not, as life makes demands that require deliberate actions which do not need to be considered right or wrong. But I fully agree that despite these variances in my persona, the presence of God in my daily walk in all circumstances becomes the constancy required of genuine people.

Thank you both for your thoughts on an issue that has been with me for some time. Is there a book in this Nigel?

Keith Jennings

Marcaus, I hear you, my virtual friend! No book directly addressing this modern issue jumps to mind. Nigel may have a zinger to recommend. I'm all ears.

I've found the book by Brother Lawrence called "The Practice of the Presence of God" a constant guide for me. His teachings on prayer without ceasing are phenomenal. Check out his bio on Wikipedia - he was pots and pans man.

Post here if you discover something in your search.

Buy Dissertation

Whenever i see the post like your's i feel that there are still helpful people who share information for the help of others, it must be helpful for other's. thanx and good job.

fitflops

A few small children watched me approach them and started running with me.

The comments to this entry are closed.

My Photo

Some of my Sermons

Map